## Orleans Zoning Board of Appeals Minutes June 18, 2008

IC Da Come, Asst TOWN OF ORLEANS TOWN GLERKS OFFICE

08 JUN 23 AM 10: 46

A meeting of the Orleans Zoning Board of Appeals was held in the Skaket Meeting Room at Orleans Town offices. The following Board members were present: Mr. Robert Osterberg, Mr. William Piersol, Mr. George Waugh, Mr. Rolf Soderstrom, Mr. Jimmy Dishner, and Mr. Steven Tarquini. Building Commissioner Mr. Brian Harrison, and Ms. Sandy Stewart, Secretary to the Board, were also present.

Chairman Osterberg declared a quorum and called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

## Case #1857

Matthew Cole and Katie Foy have applied for a Variance as set forth in MGL Chapter 40A, Section 10, under Orleans Zoning Bylaw Section 164-17D(2)(b)(2)(k) for installation of a 4-bedroom septic system on a lot containing 32,851 square feet. The property is located at 3 Baywood Drive, Orleans Map #87, Parcel #42.

At the applicants' request, attorney Benjamin E. Zehnder asked the Board for leave to withdrawal the application in Case #1857 without prejudice. On motion by Mr. Osterberg and seconded by Mr. Waugh, the Board voted unanimously to grant the applicants leave to withdraw the application in Case #1857 without prejudice.

## Case #1858

Joyce A. Cuming has applied for a Special Permit as set forth in MGL Chapter 40A, Section 6, under Orleans Zoning Bylaw Section 164-22 to construct an addition in violation of side yard set back and parking requirements. The property is located at 100 Route 6A, Orleans Map #25, Parcel #68.

The applicant Joyce A. Cuming asked the Board for leave to withdrawal the application in Case #1858 without prejudice. On motion by Mr. Piersol and seconded by Mr. Osterberg, the Board voted unanimously to grant the applicant leave to withdraw the application in Case #1858 without prejudice.

The Board discussed Chair, Vice Chair, and Clerk appointments for the new fiscal year. On motion by Mr. Dishner and seconded by Mr. Soderstrom, the Board unanimously voted to appoint Mr. Osterberg as Chairman, Mr. Piersol as Vice Chairman, and Mr. Steven Tarquini as Board Clerk. As Mr. Waugh is resigning, leaving the Board one Regular member short, and as Mr. Tarquini must be a Regular member to serve as Board Clerk, on motion and seconded, the Board unanimously voted to petition the Board of Selectmen to reappointment Mr. Tarquini as a Regular member.

The Board also discussed a memo received from the Planning Board regarding proposed wording for a change to Town Code which would require Architectural Review Committee opinion on any Special Permit sought for relief under Section 164-21A (Note 5) for dwellings of more than 4,000 square feet. After discussion, the Board decided to consider wording and be prepared to discuss at the next meeting on July 16.

On motion made by Mr. Dishner and seconded by Mr. Waugh, Chairman Osterberg adjourned the meeting at 8:30 p.m.

S. Stewart Secretary